Brownfield land register

The Town and Country Planning (Brownfield Land Register) Regulations 2017 place a responsibility on the Council to prepare and maintain a register of previously developed (brownfield) land* that is suitable for residential development. The register is publicly available to help provide certainty for developers and communities and encourage investment.

* 'Brownfield' means - sites meeting the definition of 'Previously Developed Land' in Annex 2 of the National Planning Policy Framework on GOV.UK.

The brownfield land register will maintain a list of previously developed land that:

  • has an area of at least 0.25 hectares or is capable of supporting at least 5 dwellings
  • is suitable for residential development
  • is available for residential development
  • is achievable for residential development

The register incorporates land within the Eden area of the Westmorland and Furness Planning Authority, ie this does not include areas within the National Parks.

A number of sites have been identified as part of the preparation of the Local Plan and/or have planning permission.

The register is in two parts:

Part one

Part one is all sites which are 'suitable', 'available', and 'achievable' for residential development which could be delivered within 15 years. Inclusion of a site on part one does not grant planning permission.

Part two

Part two is any sites which are given 'permission in principle'. Inclusion on part 2 grants planning permission in principle for residential development (the scale determined by the Councils) and the land owner/developer will have to apply for 'technical details consent' before any development can commence.

There are currently no brownfield sites on part two, however if a site is granted planning permission in principle the information will appear here.

Read brownfield registers and permission in principle: frequently asked questions on GOV.UK for further information regarding the brownfield land registers.

Last updated: Monday, 18 December, 2023.