General Election results 2010

Declaration of Result of Poll UK Parliamentary Election

Penrith and the Border Constituency Thursday 6 May 2010

I, James Carr, being the Returning Officer at the above election, do hereby give notice that the number of votes recorded for each candidate at the said election is as follows

Name of Candidate Description (if any) Total Votes
Barbara Ann Cannon Labour Party 5,834
Christopher (Chris) Davidson British National Party 1,093
John Brian Stanyer UK Independence Party 1,259
Rory Stewart Conservative Party 24,071
Peter Carlyle Thornton Liberal Democrats 12,830
The number of ballot papers rejected was as follows: Number of ballot papers
A. want of an official mark 1
B. voting for more candidates than voter was entitled to 21
C. writing or mark by which voter could be identified 0
D. being unmarked or wholly void for uncertainty 59
Total 81
Electorate: 64,484
Ballot papers verified: 45,168
Turnout: 70.04%

And I do hereby declare that Rory Stewart is duly elected.

Positive Feedback Okay Feedback Negative Feedback
Web page feedback