Save time, do it online: Pay Apply Report

About conservation areas

What are Conservation areas?

Conservation Areas are defined as 'areas of special architectural or historic interest, the character or appearance of which it is desirable to preserve or enhance'.

We designate Conservation Areas and, within them, we promote high standards of design as additional controls are exercised over new development, demolition and work to certain trees within the Conservation Area. Read more about:

Article 4 Direction

An Article 4 Direction gives further control over minor developments and alterations to properties, such as that introduced in the Alston Conservation Area in 1996. For more details see Article 4 Direction on Historic England website.

Where are the Conservation areas?

There are a total of 30 Conservation Areas in Eden district. For information on each Conservation Area, including boundary plans and Conservation Area character appraisals, see the list of Conservation Areas.Conservation Areas in Eden

Development in Conservation Areas

We want to ensure that any new development in Conservation Areas complement the existing character of the area and does not detract from it. Planning applications in Conservation Areas are advertised in the Cumberland and Westmorland Herald, so that anyone can have the opportunity to comment on a planning application.

For advice on development proposals within Conservation Areas, contact Development Management.


For a generic guide for all our Conservation Areas, which highlights specific issues in individual Conservation Areas and will be used to determine planning applications in Conservation Areas, read the Management of Conservation Areas Supplementary Planning Document (SPD) (PDF: 2Mb / 31 pages).

For general guidance leaflets for the owners and occupiers of listed buildings, or buildings in Conservation Areas, or advice on replacement windows and doors, see useful conservation links.

Conservation Areas in the Lake District National Park and the Yorkshire Dales National Park

The Lake District National Park Authority is responsible for Conservation Areas in the Lake District National Park, see Conservation Areas on the Lake District National Park's website.

The Yorkshire Dales National Park Authority is responsible for Conservation Areas in the Yorkshire Dales National Park, see Conservation Areas on the Yorkshire Dales National Park's website.