Equal access to services

All our customers have an equal right to access our services and we will treat them with respect, courtesy and dignity. We will make every effort to meet their needs regardless of age, gender, sexual orientation, disability, gender reassignment, race, religion or belief.

As a provider of public services, under the Equality Act 2010, we need to show that we have paid due regard to the need to:

  • Eliminate unlawful discrimination, harassment and victimisation
  • Advance equality of opportunity between people who share a protected characteristic and people who do not share it.
  • Foster good relations between people who share a protected characteristic and people who do not share it.

The protected groups under the Equality Act 2010 are:

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender reassignment
  • Marriage and civil partnership (but only in respect of eliminating unlawful discrimination)
  • Pregnancy and maternity
  • Race - this includes ethnic or national origins, colour or nationality
  • Religion or belief  -this includes lack of belief
  • Sex (gender)
  • Sexual orientation

The Equality Act 2010 contains the Public Sector Equality Duty, the aim of which is to support good decision making by ensuring public bodies consider how different people will be affected by their activities, helping them to deliver policies and services which are efficient and effective, accessible to all and which meet different people's needs.

Help us to help you

Please note that not all our customer databases operate across the Council (different departments use different systems and procedures), so it is best to let us know of any special requirements you may have each time you get in touch in order to help us meet your individual needs.

Last updated: Wednesday, 24 April, 2024.