Last chance to have your say on constituency boundary changes in Cumbria

Constituency boundaries in Cumbria are changing, and people have less than one month to have their final say.

The Boundary Commission for England has been carrying out an impartial review of parliamentary constituencies across the country and has proposed changes for Cumbria.

Currently, the constituencies are Barrow and Furness, Carlisle, Copeland, Penrith and the Border, Westmorland and Lonsdale and Workington. Under the new plans, the county would lose an MP as the constituencies drop to five – Barrow and Furness, Carlisle, Penrith and Solway, Westmorland and Lonsdale, and Whitehaven and Workington.

The new revised proposals are now available to view via an interactive map on the consultation website

The review - requested by Parliament - will rebalance the number of electors each MP represents, resulting in significant change to the existing constituency map. Overall, the number of constituencies in England will increase from 533 to 543.

A public consultation was held last year and as a result of feedback from that, the Boundary Commission has redrawn some of the areas that would become the new constituencies.

A final public consultation is open now until Monday 5 December and is the last chance to provide your views on new constituency boundaries. You can give your feedback on anything from where the proposed electoral boundaries are, to the suggestions for new constituency names.

After the consultation closes, the commission will analyse responses and form its final recommendations. These will be submitted to Parliament by July 2023.

To find out more, or to comment on the proposals, visit