

Environmental Protection Act 1990 Part IV Litter

Details of the Zoning of the District for the Purpose of Litter and Refuse

Contents

1.	Introduction	3
2.	Policy	3
3.	Schedule of Zones	3
4.	List of Streets within Zone 1	4
5.	Codes of Practice	5

1. Introduction

The Environmental Protection Act has introduced new standards for street cleaning and the cleanliness of public open places. From 1 April 1991 local authorities and other specified landowners are expected to ensure that certain types of land are kept clear of litter and refuse.

The legislation provides a Code of Practice which is based on four standards of cleanliness.

Grade A No litter or refuse

Grade B Predominantly free of litter or refuse

Grade C Widespread distribution of litter or refuse with small accumulations

Grade D Heavily littered with significant accumulations

2. Policy

Zoning of Eden District

The legislation requires Eden District Council to zone the areas within its district and to make this information available to the public.

The Code divides land types into eleven broad categories of zones according to land usage and volume of traffic. The local authority is under a duty to keep its land clear of litter and refuse, has the responsibility to allocate geographical areas to particular zones and to publicise this information.

Five of the zones listed in the Code of Practice apply to Eden District. These are 1, 3, 4, 6 and 7.

The requirements of the zones which apply to Eden are as follows:

- The four principal towns within the District, Alston, Appleby, Kirkby Stephen and Penrith each include an identifiable Town Centre and these are included within Zone 1.
- It is considered that within these towns there are no areas which can be classified as Zone 2 - High Density Residential Areas, and that the immediate urban area outside the Town Centre is best described as Zone 3 - Low Density Residential Area.

The zoning in respect of the four towns of Alston, Appleby, Kirkby Stephen and Penrith are shown in the 'Schedule of Zones' in Section 3.

3. Schedule of Zones

Location	Area	Zone	Map No
Alston	Town Centre	1	1
Alston	Area Delineated	3	1
Appleby	Town Centre	1	2
Appleby	Area Delineated	3	2

Location	Area	Zone	Map No
Kirkby Stephen	Town Centre	1	3
Kirkby Stephen	Area Delineated	3	3
Penrith	Town Centre	1	4
Penrith	Area Delineated	3	4

The remainder of the District is considered Zone 4, other than the particular exemptions listed below:

- a) The A66 and A685 within the District are designated as Zone 6 Strategic Routes.
- b) All highways within the district, including lengths through Zone 4 villages, are designated Zone 7 Local Roads.
- c) Relevant land of designated educational institutions as defined in Section 98(2) of the Act is Zone 8 Educational Institutions. The precise areas within the category will be determined by Cumbria County Council.
- d) Railway embankments within 100 metres of station platform ends are Zone 9 and railway embankments within urban areas (other than defined in category Zone 9) are Zone 10.

4. List of Streets within Zone 1

Alston

- Front Street
- Market Place

Appleby

- Boroughgate
- Bridge Street
- The Sands (part)

Kirkby Stephen

- Market Street
- Market Square
- Stoneshot (part)

Penrith

- Albert Street
- Angel Lane
- Bluebell Lane
- Brook Street
- Brunswick Road (part)

- Burrowgate
- Castlegate (part)
- Castle Hill Road (part)
- Corney Place
- Corney Square
- Crown Square
- Crown Terrace
- Devonshire Street
- de Whelpdale Lane
- Duke Street
- Elm Terrace
- Friargate (part)
- Friargate (back of CCC offices)
- Garden Close
- Great Dockray
- King Street
- Langton Street
- Little Dockray
- Market Square
- Middlegate
- Old London Road (part)
- Princes Street
- Queen Street
- Rowcliffe Lane
- Sandgate
- Southend Road (part)
- St Andrew's View
- Stricklandgate (part)
- West Lane (part)

5. Codes of Practice

www.defra.gov.uk/environment/localenv/litter/code/