Save time, do it online: Pay Apply Report

Holiday accommodation inspection schemes

Quality of accommodation is an extremely important part of the visitor experience. An inspection or assessment seeks to recognise quality and to differentiate between the levels of service and facilities provided. This helps the customer choose quality accommodation that meets their requirements.

Quality Cumbria local assessment scheme

Quality assessed Cumbria TourismQuality Cumbria is the local quality assessment scheme which is unique to Cumbria. It was developed through VisitEngland, to recognise and drive up standards of accommodation in Cumbria in 2006 and is now one of the most popular accreditation schemes in the county. Quality Cumbria properties are assessed per accommodation criteria and the main aim is safety followed by cleanliness, comfort and that they are fit for purpose. Quality Cumbria does not include stars or require overnight accommodation for assessment. All accommodation providers who meet the Quality Cumbria standards are committed to quality improvements.

Quality Cumbria contact details:

National inspection agencies

The National Quality Assessment Scheme or ‘stars' is widely recognised by customers. The star system allows customers to judge the standard of accommodation they would like for themselves. It also motivates businesses to continually improve or maintain their standards and encourages healthy competition.

There are two national assessing organisations for serviced accommodation (guest accommodation and hotel) and self-catering:AA 5 star Guest Accommodation

AA accommodation scheme contact details:

VisitEngland's national quality assessment scheme: 5 star country house hotelThis National Quality Assessment Scheme is delivered by VisitEngland and is the largest official star rating scheme in the UK.  Star ratings are awarded based on the quality of facilities, services and hospitality and will allow your business to display an official star rating logo.
Website: VisitBritain

Accommodation quality charter

For those operators who prefer not to participate in an inspection scheme, there is the option of the Accommodation Quality Charter.

Additional national quality schemes and assessments

VisitBritain also provide a number of additional Welcome Schemes for the following: Pets, Families, Cyclists and Walkers. These schemes highlight operators that provide facilities and services to welcome certain groups.

A National Accessible Scheme has been developed that provides a set of standards which accommodation establishments are assessed and rated against. The assessment covers three types of impairment: Mobility, Hearing and Visual. The standards are designed to allow people with disabilities to make an informed choice about where they want to go on holiday to in the UK.

More information on the National Accessible Scheme can be found on the Visit Britain website.

Green tourism

Become a member of Nurture Lakeland to help raise money to keep the landscapes and wildlife of Cumbria unique. To find out more visit