Accessibility options:
Eden District Council
Search our Site

How decisions are made

The Leader is appointed by full Council. The Leader appoints members to the Executive. The Executive makes the key decisions concerning the services we deliver.

Each member of the Executive has a portfolio of services for which they are responsible. Portfolio holders meet regularly with officers in order to make everyday decisions.

Forward Plan of Key Decisions

At the Annual General Meeting held on 8 May 2014, Council considered a report with proposals to revise Eden's Scrutiny structures. One of these proposals was to discontinue the use of the Forward Plan as this was no longer a statutory requirement for District Councils. Past copies of the Forward Plan can be found on the Forward Plan of Key Decisions page. The Executive meets every month to consider matters of significance and to discuss policy development and any recommendations of the Scrutiny bodies.

Who are the Executive Members?

The Executive Members are shown below. Click on them to see what they are responsible for and what decisions they have made.

Councillor Nicolson

Councillor Gordon Nicolson (Conservative Group)


  • Strategic Direction of the Council
  • Strategic Leadership
  • Transformation
  • External Relations
  • Executive Oversight
  • Strategic Partnerships
  • Marketing
  • Emergency Planning and Business Continuity 
  • The allocation of major projects or initiatives
  • Equality and Diversity

The Leader will have responsibility for achieving the Council's priority of a Quality Council, and the delivery of the corporate priorities.

Meet the Leader
The Council Leader holds public surgeries for residents to come along and discuss problems and issues with him. These are held monthly from 11am-Noon in the Town Hall, Penrith. No appointment is necessary; members of the public can simply turn up at the Town Hall and ask to see the Council Leader.

For more information:

Councillor Robinson

Councillor Mary Robinson (Independent Alliance)
Deputy Leader of the Council


  • Sports and Recreation
  • Community engagement and empowerment
  • Leisure, the Arts and Cultural Services
  • Community Safety and Crime and Disorder
  • Rural issues
  • Liaison with Parish Councils
  • Community Development
  • Children and Young People
  • Cemeteries, Parks and Open Spaces
  • The distribution of the Community Fund
  • The delivery of the priority of a quality Council
Councillor Michael Tonkin

Councillor Mike Tonkin (Independent Alliance)


  • Environment Agenda (Cleaner and Greener)
  • Environmental Health and Food Safety
  • Relationships with Environment Agency/DEFRA
  • Transport and Car Parking
  • Climate Change
  • Waste Collection and Recycling
  • Joint Working with the County Council and other Authorities on Waste
  • Street Cleansing and Public Conveniences
  • Responsibility for the delivery of the priority of a Quality Environment
  • Environmental Sustainability and Well Being
Councillor Lesley Grisdale

Lesley Grisedale (Conservative Group)


  • The delivery of the strategic housing function
  • The delivery of the Council's role as the local housing authority
  • Housing Grants
  • Housing provision within the District and the delivery of the Decent Homes Standard
  • Relations with RSLs and Housing Providers
  • The consideration of housing need in the District
  • The delivery of the Council's priority of affordable housing
  • The consideration of the 'ageing' agenda as it applies to the local housing authority
Councillor David Whipp

David Whipp (Conservative group)


  • Managing Council Communication and Business 
  • Customer Contact
  • Liaising with the Business Community in the Four Market Towns
  • Member Training and Development
  • Staff Training and Development
  • Equality and Diversity
  • Information Technology 
Councillor Smith

Councillor Malcolm Smith (Independent Alliance)


  • Economic Strategy
  • Economic Vitality and Development
  • Town Centres
  • Markets
  • Tourism and Tourist Information Centres
  • Delivery of the Council's priority of Economic Vitality
  • The Core Strategy and the Development Framework
  • The promotion of Apprenticeships
  • Employment within the District
  • Relations with Education Providers in the District
  • The Economic well being of the District
  • The Vitality and Viability of the Market Towns and Rural Areas in the District
Councillor Kevin Beaty

Kevin Beaty (Conservative Group)


  • The financial resources of the Council and ensuring a balanced budget
  • Financial Services
  • Legal and Democratic Services
  • Revenues and Benefits
  • Land and Asset Management
  • The organisational structure and management processes of the Council
  • Human Resources
  • The Management of Succession
  • Supporting the delivery of quality Council priority, particularly in relation to financial services
  • Data Protection and Freedom of Information

Officer Delegated Decisions

There are six officers who can make delegated decisions. To find out more see officer delegated decisions.

Was this page helpful?