Eden District Council
Search our Site

Heart of Eden Community Plan

The Heart of Eden area comprised 12 parishes and centres around the historic market town of Appleby-in-Westmorland. Parishes included: Appleby, Asby, Bandleyside, Bolton, Crackenthorpe, Dufton, Kirkby Thore, Long Marton, Newbiggin, Milburn, Murton and Temple Sowerby.

The Heart of Eden Community Planning Group (now disbanded) was established so that people in the Heart of Eden area could have a more hands on approach to local decision making.

In developing their Community Plan in 2009, the Heart of Eden Group received significant support from us, from Cumbria County Council and ACTion with Communities in Cumbria (ACT). The Group were also supported to bid for money from the RDPE and combined with parish precepts and a Service Level Agreement (SLA) with the County Council were able to employ their own part-time co-ordinator for three years.

For further information

  • Contact: Communities Officer
  • Email: Communities.Team@eden.gov.uk
  • Telephone: 01768 817817
  • Address: Communities Team, Eden District Council, Mansion House, Penrith, Cumbria CA11 7YG 

Was this page helpful?