Eden District Council
Search our Site

Scrutiny Committees

We have six Councillors who form the Executive, they are responsible for taking the majority of decisions. The remaining 32 Councillors are known as non-executive or back bench Councillors. These Councillors are involved in scrutinising the work of the Executive. The members are nominated on to two committees and a Co-ordinating Board. Different political groups are reflected proportionally to reflect the political balance of the Council. The two committees meet quarterly and a Co-ordinating Board meets every two months:

  • Scrutiny Coordinating Board is responsible for co-ordinating the topics being reviewed by the two committees (the work programme). The Co-ordinating Board undertakes cross cutting reviews (topics that cover more than one remit) and the Budget. It also monitors the Council Plan (our priorities for service provision in the district) and is responsible for scrutinising performance.

  • Environment and Economy Committee covers transport, environmental health, waste and recycling, economic development, tourism and planning.

  • Housing and Community Committee covers affordable housing, homelessness, cultural services and community safety. This is also the Council's statutory Crime and Disorder Panel.

Members of the public are welcome to attend these meetings.

For further information:

  • Contact: Member Services Officer
  • Email: scrutiny@eden.gov.uk
  • Telephone: 01768 212142 or 212275
  • Address: Eden District Council, Town Hall, Penrith, Cumbria CA11 7QF

Was this page helpful?